Facebook Ads: Character Limit Reduced to 90

4 May

From the 1st of May Facebook has enforced a new character limit for writing your ad copy. The new character limit will be 90 which previously was 135. I was unaware of this fact till I went on to experiment something on the ad page. I was trying to write a copy with Twitter as my reference for character count (It may sound silly but I find this easy) . I was wondering as to why Facebook is  not accepting the copy with 135 characters. My eyes quickly rolled over to the 90 character limit.  Surprisingly not many people have written about it. But anyways here it is from now on Facebook’s new ad copy limit will be 90 characters.  The title character limit remains the same, which is 25.

If I may speculate this is a move by Facebook to fit in more number of ads on page as advertising on Facebook seems to be increasing at a rapid pace. From now on agencies and copywriters may have to change their Facebook ad strategy and keep the copies as short as possible but the demand for creativity has only  increased.  Happy Advertising!

Leave a Reply

